Life with Baby K

March 7, 2008

A new cycle begins…

Filed under: prep for IVF #1 — by Jess @ 7:48 pm
Tags:

So today is Day 3. Which means today I had to drag myself to Springfield for Day 3 bloodwork. So my last cycle went 40 days, which is longer than the 35 days my last few cycles have been. I called the RE on Monday which was Day 39 and told them that my period still hadn’t started and that I was eager to start my next cycle so I can do bloodwork and the HSG. So they sent me to the local hospital for a pregnancy test and a progestrone level. I was suppose to call today to get the results and then start Provera but of course two days later I woke up to my period. I felt like the person who brings their car to the garage just to have the noise stop when they get there. So anyways I am on Day 3 and I am very excited to be doing tests and such. The RE gave me a checklist of preliminary things I need to get done before I start my first IVF cycle. So I am very excited to be checking things off, slowly but surely. Jeff and I went for our IVF information overview last week, which was mostly info I already knew, thanks to hours spent on the internet, but it was good for Jeff to hear. We went out to dinner afterwards and had a really good conversation about the whole process. We talked about his feelings about the process, how many embryos we would want to transfer, I explained certain areas of the process that he still wasn’t clear on. I felt so much better after that night. I feel like we are on the same page now.

I go back to Springfield on Friday March 14 for my HSG. I am not really worried about this test, I just hope it doesn’t hurt much. The whole idea of having radioactive dye pushed through my fallopian tubes doesn’t thrill me, but what the hell, why not?! I did notice on the IVF checklist that there is mention of needing a sonogram in prep for the first IVF cycle. The doctor hasn’t mentioned this to me. I am going to call them on Monday to find out if this is something I should be scheduling. I am going to see if I can set up my follow up appt with the doc on Monday as well. They told me to set it up once all of my testing was done but I am thinking maybe we can schedule it now for whenever they would have the results, rather than waiting until next Friday to schedule. In my little head I am actually wondering if I will be able to start BCP with my next cycle. Since I have long cycles anyways, it should give me plenty of time to have my follow up appt and then my protocol class with the IVF nurses. I already have BCP at home, I am hoping I can just use those pills, makes more sense than just letting them sit there. Does anyone know if they tend to prescribe a certain kind of BCP to regulate your cycle before IVF? I wonder if my plan of starting BCP next cycle is realistic. Based on my typical 35 day cycle, I am not due to start my next cycle until April 8. Which means I could potentially have egg retrieval in the middle to end of May. That would be awesome. I guess I shouldn’t get too far ahead of myself. I am just so excited to be actively working towards getting pregnant. I just hope I am not setting myself up…

1 Comment »

  1. Wow, that IS really exciting! I know all of that stuff must be just swirling around in your head. It would be mine.

    It’s good that you and your husband are both in on the same page. Mine gets so negative, and I’m always trying to encourage him to be more optomistic.

    The HSG was not a big deal for me, just some cramping when the tubes were about full, maybe a minute of feeling uncomfortable.

    Comment by PJ — March 7, 2008 @ 10:17 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

