Life with Baby K

May 2, 2008

Insurance woes…

Filed under: insurance woes,IVF #1,Nieces,school — by Jess @ 11:35 am
Tags: , , ,

Yesterday I got a phone call from the IVF insurance coordinator. Turns out that Jeff’s last SA had a morphology of 3%. The first SA was 1.5%. Blue Cross requires two SA with a morph under 2% to pay for ICSI. So, we have been denied!!! I was so upset yesterday! They are going to pay for IVF but don’t deem us as needing ICSI. So after considering our options, Jeff and I have decided to have him give another SA with the hopes of the morph coming in lower. If that doesn’t work, then we will just do regular IVF and see how that goes. We could self pay but we don’t have $1200. Since we weren’t expecting this we didn’t save anything. Truth is that I don’t think that we are going to do anything that the insurance company won’t pay for, at least not at this point. We are not in a position to be paying tons of money for IF treatments.

I always feel like an ungrateful jerk when I complain about insurance. I know how lucky I am that I live in Massachusetts and have good insurance. I admire and respect everyone who self pays, and maybe in the future when I have my nursing degree I will be able to self pay when needed. But its just not possible right now.

Anyway on other news, the semester is almost over, THANK GOD! I need the summer to relax and focus on IVF and/or possibly being pregnant! Actually I am just looking forward to spending time with my fam and my adorable little nieces. Last night was my last chemistry class, today is my last lab and then next week is my last two A&P classes. Summer is almost here!!! I can’t wait.

This weekend I am babysitting the girls Saturday all day and overnight into Sunday. I am super excited! I love those girls so much. Hopefully the weather is okay so we can go to the park on Saturday.

Hope everyone has a good weekend!

2 Comments »

  1. Sorry about the morph issues :/
    Its hard when we need all our parameters to fit into one box–and it just doesn’t end up working that way…
    Hoping you all enjoy your weekend and can get some more answers soon!

    Comment by JJ — May 2, 2008 @ 3:25 pm |Reply

  2. I hate insurance companies. That is just ridiculous! All of the stuff I’ve read on morphology says that under 4 percent needs ICSI! How can they justify that?

    And hey, don’t feel bad for having good insurance! If we had tried to get pregnant five years ago, before I got my degree, we wouldn’t have been able to afford IF treatments either. All the stars had to align.

    I hope that everything works out, and whatever route you take you get some fertilized embies! I’ll be reading and cheering for you!

    Comment by PJ — May 3, 2008 @ 1:24 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

